Across Canada, over 20 engineers are running in this fall’s federal election.

“Engineers bring a unique and valued perspective to public policy and decision-making,” says Gerard McDonald, CEO of Engineers of CIIEG. “We’re always encouraged to see engineers getting involved in public service, and we look forward to conversations with all the engineer candidates about the topics that impact the engineering profession.”

CIIEG provides advocacy services on behalf of the regulators and the engineering profession to the federal government. As the national organization that represents the 12 provincial and territorial engineering regulators that license the 295,000 members of the engineering profession in Canada, CIIEG has a long-standing history of working and collaborating with the federal government on key policy priorities to support both the 12 engineering regulators across Canada and the engineering profession. These priorities include supporting the self-regulation of the engineering profession in Canada, improving the recruitment, retention, and professional development of women and Indigenous peoples in post-secondary engineering education and the engineering profession, and ensuring that climate vulnerability assessment processes and risk assessments be a condition of funding approvals for infrastructure projects.

The following is a list of engineers running in the 2019 federal election:


  • Sukh Dhaliwal, Surrey-Newton, Liberal Party of Canada
  • Geoff Wright, Vancouver Quadra, Green Party
  • Robert (Doug) Bebb, West Vancouver—Sunshine Coast—Sea to Sky Country, Conservative Party of Canada


  • Thana Boonlert, Calgary Centre, Green Party
  • Edward Gao, Calgary Midnapore, People’s Party of Canada
  • Ian Cameron, Edmonton Strathcona, People’s Party of Canada


  • Gordon Kubanek, Carleton, Green Party
  • Ruben D. Marini, Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, Liberal Party of Canada
  • Ann Raney, King-Vaughan, Green Party
  • Dirka Prout, London North Centre, New Democratic Party
  • Omar Alghabra, Mississauga Centre, Liberal Party of Canada
  • Walter Bauer, Newmarket-Aurora, Green Party
  • Marilyn Gladu, Sarnia-Lambton, Conservative Party of Canada
  • Peter Ormond, Hamilton East-Stoney Creek, Green Party
  • Corneliu Chisu, Pickering-Uxbridge, People’s Party of Canada
  • Peter Devita, Vaughan-Woodbridge, New Democratic Party
  • David Micalef, Mississauga Centre, People’s Party of Canada
  • Stephen T. Makk, Simcoe-North, People’s Party of Canada


  • Steven Blaney, Bellechasse-Les Etchemins-Lévis, Conservative Party of Canada
  • Simon Chalifoux, Pierre-Boucher-Les Patriotes-Verchères, Liberal Party of Canada
  • David Tordjman, Mount Royal, Conservative Party of Canada
  • Marc Garneau, Notre-Dame-de-Grâce-Westmount, Liberal Party of Canada


  • Anthony Edmonds, Sackville-Preston-Chezzetcook, Green Party


  • Larry Flemming, Labrador, Conservative Party of Canada
  • Nick Whalen, St. John’s East, Liberal Party of Canada

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *